Traffic Violations

Practice Areas

DUI Criminal Defense

If you have a DUI charge in the Northern Virginia area, the experienced lawyers at Westlake can help


We are planners, strategists, and problem solvers. To us, “planning to win” is more than an expectation - it is an action.

Traffic Violation Attorneys in Virginia

More than 41 million traffic tickets are issued across America each year, making traffic violations seem commonplace to many drivers. Regardless of how common traffic violations may be, they still come with serious consequences that have real-life implications for motorists. Virginia drivers that have been charged with a traffic violation may also face misdemeanor or felony charges depending on the nature of the incident. Westlake Legal Group has years of experience defending Virginia drivers against traffic violation allegations so they can get back on the road safely and legally.

If you’ve recently been issued a traffic violation in the Commonwealth of Virginia, don’t hesitate to contact your traffic violation attorneys at Westlake Legal Group for an initial consultation today!

Understanding Traffic Violation Laws in Northern Virginia

Types of Traffic Violations

When people think of traffic violations, they usually think about speeding, parking violations, or failure to observe traffic signs. But traffic incidents aren’t one-size-fits-all, and many come with serious consequences depending on the specific infraction committed. In Virginia, there are three main types of traffic incidents outlined by state law, including:

  • Traffic Infractions: These are the types of offenses most people think of when they hear the term “traffic violation.” These are violations that result in demerit points to your diver’s license and typically have a fine associated with them. Such infractions include speeding, driving with a taillight or headlight out, failing to stop completely at a red light or stop sign, etc.
  • Traffic Misdemeanors: Traffic misdemeanors are criminal charges that may result in jail time, fines, or license suspension for the recipient. Such instances include driving with a suspended license, driving without a license, and reckless driving. These criminal convictions cannot be expunged.
  • Traffic Felonies: These are the most serious traffic violations in Virginia. The penalties for a traffic felony are much more severe, often resulting in a prison sentence rather than a stay at a Virginia county jail. These criminal convictions cannot be expunged if found guilty.

Drivers who have been charged with any of the above traffic incidents should not hesitate to reach out to a knowledgeable attorney to litigate their case. Contact Westlake Legal Group to set up your initial consultation today.

Virginia Traffic Violation Laws

In addition to the different types of Virginia traffic incidents, drivers should be aware of specific driving laws in the state to avoid being charged. These laws include:

  • Speed Limits: A maximum speed limit is applied to the various types of roadways within Virginia. Rural interstates and freeways have a maximum speed of 70 mph; urban interstates and freeways have a maximum speed of 65 mph; and other highways have a maximum speed of 55 mph. Highways within city limits or without a surface have a maximum speed of 35 mph, and business and residential areas have a maximum speed limit of 25 mph. Drivers caught speeding for the first time in Virginia must pay an $8 fine for every mile they are over the speed limit as well as a $51 processing fee. Drivers caught speeding in a residential zone will face a $200 fine as well as possible jail time and driver’s license suspension. Drivers can also be fined for driving too slow.
  • Reckless Driving: This is categorized as driving that willfully disregards safety precautions while driving and is a class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. Those who exceed the speed limit by 20 mph or exceed 80 mph can be charged with reckless driving by speed. The maximum penalty for a reckless driving conviction is a $2,500 fine and 12 months in jail.
  • Driving Without a License: Considered a class 2 misdemeanor, drivers caught without a license in Virginia can spend up to six months in jail and receive a $1,000 fine. If caught a second time, offenders can face up to one year in jail and a fine of $2,500. Their vehicle may also be impounded.

To understand more about Virginia traffic violation laws, consult with your Westlake Legal Group attorney.

Frequently Asked Questions

What should I do if I’ve been issued a traffic violation in Virginia?

Contact a traffic violation attorney for a consultation to determine your options, especially if you’ve received a traffic misdemeanor or felony charge.

I’m an out-of-state driver. How will a Virginia traffic violation affect my driving record?

Virginia traffic offenses often follow offenders back to their home states. The effect of Virginia convictions varies depending on the state in which you live. Many states will even refuse to grant or renew a driver’s license to habitual offenders of Virginia driving laws. Consult with your traffic violation attorney to understand the options available to you.

Westlake Legal Group for Your Virginia Traffic Violation Attorneys

If you’ve been charged with a traffic violation in Virginia, you may have many valid defenses. Westlake Legal Group has the skilled traffic violation attorneys you need to fight your case. Contact our team to schedule an initial consultation for your case today!

Contact Us

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.


The information on this website is for informational purposes only; it is deemed accurate but not guaranteed. It does not constitute professional advice. All information is subject to change at any time without notice. Contact us for complete details.